Jane Smiley has an excellent post up at HuffPo today on the Palin pregnancy:

Sarah Palin and her church and her pastor have made themselves abundantly clear on issues of reproductive privacy — there won’t be any. In a Palin world, if my daughter wanted birth control, she wouldn’t be able to get any, and if I wanted sex education to be taught in my son’s school, I would be out of luck. If a girl I knew were raped and impregnated by her uncle and she elected to have an abortion, she would not be allowed to do so. She wouldn’t even be allowed to take the morning after pill in case he got her pregnant. Maybe there’s something you guys don’t get about this. Bristol Palin’s pregnancy is at the heart of what women and the right wing have been fighting over for thirty years, and it isn’t abortion, it’s privacy and the right to control your own reproductive choices. There will always be abortion, and there will always be choice, but Palin would like the choice to be illegal and punishable. Same with birth control.

Right on, sister! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Sarah Palin hates women. She hates me. She hates my freedom to control my uterus. She hates my access to contraception. This is not a woman who should be anywhere near a Presidency. Neither should John McCain. The Bristol Palin pregnancy is not an issue of family privacy, it’s a reminder of the bigger problem: the Vice Presidential nominee’s archaic and misogynist attitude towards reproductive health. Ladies and gentlemen, if you want to live in a world based on The Handmaid’s Tale, vote for McCain/Palin in ’08.

